surfing

list of evolving Worry of my first surf trip last weekend:

  • i can barely swim!
  • i haven’t had enough swimming practice
  • the sea has no floor like in a pool…
  • what if i get my period
  • tampons
  • how will i see?
  • do i wear goggles?
  • do i need to buy special goggles? (are they expensive)
  • should i wear contact lens?
  • will sea bacteria breed in them and blind me?
  • i don’t even get up that early on regular days…
  • oh no my throat feels weird
  • why can’t i swim 1 lap with a weird throat
  • will i have time to pack
  • what if i oversleep
  • what if i don’t get enough sleep
  • oh shiet i overslept
  • oh no i’m late
  • what is this traffic
  • where is my grab
  • where is the train
  • is this really my back leg
  • wow that sea is so big and never ending
  • wow this longboard is bigger than me
  • wow this board is heavy
  • wow sea water is so…salty
  • will salty water help my throat or make it worse
  • what if i can’t reach the sea floor
  • what if the board hits me
  • the board is going to hit me
  • i can’t see
  • why is everyone so far away
  • which one is the instructor
  • i can’t stand
  • am i moving
  • ok i’m tired
  • what if i’m too tired to swim back to shore
  • swallowing seawater is SO salty (note to self: shrieking or leaving mouth open encourages seawater to be swallowed)
  • why am i not moving
  • just stand just stand just stand
  • how do i know when a wave is coming?
  • aww man i missed it
  • aww man i just got out there (as oncoming wave washes me back to shore)
  • don’t fall into the rock
  • am i done when my fingers are wrinkly?
  • will i get to surf again before the season ends?
surfing

Leave a comment